Launch of the 8th edition of The Malta Short Film Festival (24/08/2016)

The 8th edition of the Malta Short Film Festival will be broadcast from the 23rd of August till the end of September every Friday at 9.20pm news bulletin on TVM and repeated the following Monday at 8.40pm on TVM2. This cultural programme is a platform for local and international filmmakers but also stimulates discussion in media literacy amongst the general public. The festival was the recipient of the Best Cultural Programme of the Malta Television Awards in 2009 after its first broadcast. Since then the festival has gone from strength to strength due to the concept, quality of programme in content and technically, and the constant support of the festival partners. Last year the festival was awarded the EFFE label, an award in excellence in the organisation of festivals in Europe. The Malta Film Foundation, who organises the festival, has also recently signed a 3 year agreement, known as the Cultural Partnership Agreement with Arts Council Malta to expand its operations.

The unique format of the festival will remain that the films will shown and discussed by the resident judges. The festival will be screening 20 films from 11 countries. There will be 5 films from Malta. Genres will vary from fiction, comedy, animation, documentary, thriller and fantasy.

The judges will be Prof Rev Saviour Chircop, former Dean of the Faculty of Media and Knowledge Sciences at the University of Malta; Mr Charles Stroud, leading Producer and Director of Drama for television; Mr Winston Azzopardi, first Film Commissioner and leading Production Manager; and Joyce Grech, festival Executive Producer and former Head of the Malta Drama Centre and Director of the National Book Council.

Each programme will be streamed live on while it is being aired on television and will then be uploaded to the festival website the following day.

The festival will conclude with the Award Ceremony filmed at the grandeur venue of the Ballroom at the Radisson Blu Resort, St Julians.

This year the Rising Star Award will once again be given, courtesy of the Matthew Martino Benevolent Fund to a director who has a promising career in the film industry. The prize will consist of a cash prize and an experience working on a film set in the UK. Last year the award was given to Ms Claudia Chircop.

The festival was conceived by its director, Mr Tony Parnis, whose career as a film and TV director spans over 40 years. He has also been active as judge in film festivals both locally and abroad for many years. Joyce Grech is the Executive Producer of the festival and Martin Mercieca is the technical director.

Main supporters:

The main supporters of the festival




The following films are the official selection for 2016, presented in alphabetical order and not in order of merit.




Mark & Nicholas Caruana



Ángel Ripalda

It Wasn’t Me


Chris  Moraitis



Elder Fraga

Noia – A day at the Limit


Shirley Spiteri Mintoff

Friend or Foe


Carlos Lascano


Argentina / Spain

Jerome Peters

No Fixed Motive


Igor Parfenov

On the scales


Federico Chini

The Pomegranate House


Emanuel Bonnici



Stefan Plepp & Christine Kabisch

Risky game


Alice Fraccaro

Allahu akbar


Marie-Clare Sammut

The Buddy


Alberto Rizzi

Sleeping Wonder


Miguel Berzal

Taking care of Ruth


Tom Evans

Into the surf


Luke Zammit

The Exam


Irene Garcés

There was a place


Robert Hackett

Boris in the forest


David Maire

Chateau Sauvignon: terroir

United States



Contact details:


Malta Film Foundation

PO Box 26

San Gwann Malta


E-mail: [email protected]